Invader Mark

April 11, 2008 at 1:09 pm 1 comment

We’ve been focusing more on living life than blogging about it lately. There has been a lot of fun to share, though.

Mark and Kira are in the midst of their first season on the West Lafayette HS “Boiler Invasion” Robotics Team. The kids spend six weeks building a robot to solve a specific problem (a giant game). Then they take their robots to competitions to battle it out with other teams. It’s like a huge sports event for geeks, and it’s loads of fun.

Mark has spent a lot of time as the mascot at competitions.

I

For the record, he’s an alien invader, and “461” is their team number. It’s hilarious to hear what kids (and adults!) from other teams yell to him, though. “Hey! Giant Slice of Cheese!” “Picachu, I pick YOU!” And our favorite, “Hunk of Tofu!” Most of my video footage has been of him dancing. I really ought to take some video of the robots!

Next weekend, I’m chaperoning their trip to Atlanta to the First Robotics World Championship. A road trip with a bus filled with geek teen agers! I’m up for it. I’ve already puchased Oreos and M&M’s in bulk.

Entry filed under: Haaaave you met my kids?. Tags: .

Renovation Jubilation I Wanted an EMO Otter, Not an EMO Otter!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. liz  |  April 14, 2008 at 5:14 am

    I think he looks like an alien! I am puzzled by the number, though. 461?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


