Renovation Jubilation

February 25, 2008 at 2:13 pm 1 comment

Although it always requires more time, more effort and more steps than initially planned, doing-it-myself always pays off.  This house is just perfect for fixing up and wrapping around my family.  And I really love remodeling.  Here’s what Mark’s room looked like a year ago when we bought the place:

As we found it

Definitely “to code” for a 1960’s basement bedroom.  The windows, however, did not actually meet requirements for legal egress in an emergency.  So I got out my crow bar and hammer, tore out the paneling and nasty ceiling tile and had a larger window installed.

New Window, old walls 

And then the drywall . . . . oy with the drywall!  I should have known not to let the contractors do any finishing work after they hung the sheet rock.  They initially spent a little too much time staring at the mud at Menards, trying to decide which one to purchase.  That was my first clue.  I had a handful of further clues, culminating in a really crappy first coat of mud which took me six hours to cut.  So I fired them and finished it myself. 

Room Step 2

It’s far from perfect, but at least I have only moi-meme to be ticked off at for the flaws.  I can live with that.  I still have to fix all of the outlet holes, which they cut too large to cover properly.

Mark walls

The colors Mark chose are really stunning.  A very modern green and steely blue combination.  We’re going to decorate with a lot of metal.

Mark Flooring 

The floor is a spurl maple floating laminate.  Laminate has come a long way in the past 10 years.  It’s really gorgeous.  Mark was my apprentice yesterday while we lay it.  

It’s moulding time and there a few other finishing jobs, but he’s already moving back in and loving it. 

    

Entry filed under: 1967 House.

We’re Baaaaaaaack Invader Mark

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Emma  |  October 10, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    gosh, I am looking ay all the old posts and I saw this one.
    this was such a long time ago.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Most Recent Posts


